Read Alikes by Audience


mod-list-seriesA read alike is a book (or series) that is similar to something you have already read — and already like! Read alikes make it easy to keep kids reading and stretch in incremental steps. The formula for asking about a Read Alike is straightforward:

We liked [insert author, title, character, series name], do you
have an idea on something else we might like?

Some online bookseller’s sites offer a list of  “related titles” or “If you liked …” when you have searched a book. That is a resources, too. Search the title of the book you’ve read and liked, and see what recommendations pop up.

Most read-alike lists are geared toward independent readers, though you can occasionally find a list for easy readers. If you are looking for read-alikes that aren’t listed here, scroll down to the bottom of this page for resources that may be able to help you.

Elementary Readers If you liked …

Captain Underpants Read-alikes… Charles County Public Library website

Hardy Boys Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Junie B. Jones Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone (date)

Little  House on the Prairie Read-alikes… Charles County Public Library website

Magic Treehouse Read-alikes… Charles County Public Library website

Roahl Dahl Books Erica @ What Do We Do All Day (January 2016)

Winnie the Pooh @ New York Public Library (March 2016)

Middle Grade If you liked …

Books by Beverly Cleary by Erica @ What Do We Do All Day (April 2016)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Frindle Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (2003)

Holes Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (2003)

Lemony Snicket Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Lock it, Lick it, Click it: Diaries, Letters and Email Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Maniac Magee Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

The Outsiders Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Percy Jackson Erica @ What Do We Do All Day (October 2015)

(more) Percy Jackson Rebecca @ A Book Long Enough (November 2014)

The Princess Diaries Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Stargirl Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern The Reading Zone  (date)

Time Warp Trio Read-alikes… Charles County Public Library website

Vampire Reads- If You Love Twilight! Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Twilight Read-Alikes for Younger Readers School Library Journal (January 2010)

Westing Game Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Young Adult If you liked …

Divergent Tom Burns @ Read Brightly (March 2016)

Into Thin Air Read-alikes (Adventure stories) Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Mockingjay Alicia @ LibrarYAn (August 2010)

Other Read-Alike Resources

Charles County Public Library website lists

Hennepin County Library website tools, including lists and book/author searches

New Jersey State Library Youth Services website lists

What Should I Read Next website tool for book/author searches

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s